Opportune Misfortune

In life, two choices often present themselves at the same time. The choice to walk through one door is oft the choice to close another. I am trying to decide between two doors now. I find myself trying to live in the hallway that separates these doors. The hallway is cold, dark, mellow, and sad.

I cannot give myself entirely to one door, for I cannot bear to close the other. Saying goodbye to one opportunity that I may want in the future appears to me a foolish task that many may claim an accomplishment. I seek a fulfilling career above all else. With my work, I may provide for myself and, eventually, a family. I may one day even fulfill my dreams of owning a small farm and travelling the world.

However, how empty are dreams that are void of expression. Each breathing moment I do not share with those I love seems a waste. However, if I choose the door that leads to family, I may close my door to having a career working with intelligent, kind, and caring people. I may find myself locked behind the door, chained to a job that leads me to loathe my very existence.

Either door may lead to happiness. Either door may lead to despair. Opportunities taken have their own unfortunate consequences. The saddest looking road can lead to the most beautiful destination. The path you take is your choice. The consequences of that choice are your demise.

Leave a comment